Tuesday, July 8, 2008

Security Council

B. Security Council- Maintenance of international peace and security. It is composed of 5 permanent members, namely: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States and the ten elective members, elected for 2 years terms by the General assembly, five from African and Asian states, two from Latin American states, two from Western European and other States and one from Eastern European States.
For the elective members, no immediate reelection is allowed. The Security Council is expected to function continuously, and sessions may be called at any time, thus the representative of the members states should always be available.
Voting in The Security Council
Each member entitled to one vote
On substantial questions (non-procedural): Affirmative vote of nine (9) members required, including all the 5 permanent members.
A permanent member may veto on any non-procedural matter to prevent its passage.
On procedural questions: Affirmative vote of nine members or more;
But determining whether a question is procedural or not is a non-procedural matter.
Any permanent member may veto on such determination or on the substantial question when raised. So called double veto.

No comments: